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                         Reading Clerk 

 

FLOOR AMENDMENT 
HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 

State of Oklahoma 

 

 SPEAKER:  

 

 CHAIR:  

 

I move to amend  SB56                                          

           Of the printed Bill 

Page    1          Section    1           Lines    16                     

              Of the Engrossed Bill 

 

 

By removing Section 1 from the bill in its entirety and inserting Sections 

1 through 7 

 

(see attached) 

 

and by renumbering the subsequent section of the bill. 
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 "SECTION 1.     AMENDATORY     21 O.S. 2011, Section 1290.5, as 

last amended by Section 1, Chapter 122, O.S.L. 2014 (21 O.S. Supp. 

2014, Section 1290.5), is amended to read as follows: 

Section 1290.5 

TERM OF LICENSE AND RENEWAL 

A.  A handgun license when issued shall authorize the person to 

whom the license is issued to carry a loaded or unloaded handgun, 

concealed or unconcealed, as authorized by the provisions of the 

Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, and any future modifications thereto.  

The license shall be valid in this state for a period of five (5) or 

ten (10) years, unless subsequently surrendered, suspended or 

revoked as provided by law.  The person shall have no authority to 

continue to carry a concealed or unconcealed handgun in this state 

pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act when a license is expired 

or when a license has been voluntarily surrendered or suspended or 

revoked for any reason. 

B.  A license may be renewed any time within ninety (90) days 

prior to the expiration date as provided in this subsection.  The 

Bureau shall send a renewal application to each eligible licensee 

with a return address requested.  There shall be a ninety-day grace 

period on license renewals beginning on the date of expiration, 

thereafter the license is considered expired.  However, any 

applicant shall have three (3) years from the expiration of the 

license to comply with the renewal requirements of this section. 
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 1.  To renew a handgun license, the licensee must first obtain a 

Oklahoma residents may submit renewal form from applications to the 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation at its headquarters or any 

other facility designated by the Bureau for receiving applications. 

2.  The applicant must complete the renewal form submit either a 

completed paper application, in person or by mail, or complete an 

online application, attach or upload two current passport-size 

photographs of the applicant, and submit a renewal fee in the amount 

of Eighty-five Dollars ($85.00) to the Bureau.  Beginning August 1, 

2016, the renewal fee shall be Forty Dollars ($40.00) for Oklahoma 

residents or Eighty Dollars ($80.00) for nonresidents.  The renewal 

fee may be paid with a nationally recognized credit card as provided 

in subparagraph b of paragraph 4 5 of subsection A of Section 

1290.12 of this title, by electronic funds transfer, or by a 

cashier's check or money order made payable to the Oklahoma State 

Bureau of Investigation. 

3.  Upon receipt of the renewal application, photographs and 

fee, the Bureau will conduct a criminal history records name search, 

an investigation of medical records or other records or information 

deemed by the Bureau to be relevant to the renewal application 

background check of the applicant using the National Instant 

Criminal Background Check System (NICS) of the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation.  Approval or denial of the renewal application, 

notification of the denial, and the appeals process of the renewal 
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 application shall be subject to the same procedures for new 

applicants.  If the NICS background check provides a "proceed" 

response pertaining to the applicant appears not to have any 

prohibition to renewing the handgun license, the Bureau shall issue 

the renewed license for a period of five (5) or ten (10) years. 

C.  Beginning November 1, 2007, any person making application 

for a handgun license or any licensee seeking to renew a handgun 

license shall have the option to request that said license be valid 

for a period of ten (10) years.  The fee for any handgun license 

issued for a period of ten (10) years shall be double the amount of 

the fee provided for in paragraph 4 of subsection A of Section 

1290.12 of this title.  The renewal fee for a handgun license issued 

for a period of ten (10) years shall be double the amount of the fee 

provided for in paragraph 2 of subsection B of this section. 

SECTION 2.     AMENDATORY     21 O.S. 2011, Section 1290.9, as 

last amended by Section 1, Chapter 85, O.S.L. 2014 (21 O.S. Supp. 

2014, Section 1290.9), is amended to read as follows: 

Section 1290.9   

ELIGIBILITY 

The following requirements shall apply to any person making 

application to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation for a 

handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-

Defense Act.  The person must: 

1.  Be a citizen of the United States; 
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 2.  Establish a residency in the State of Oklahoma.  For 

purposes of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, the term "residency" 

shall apply to any person who either possesses a valid Oklahoma 

driver license or state photo identification card, and physically 

maintains a residence in this state or to any person, including the 

spouse of such person, who has permanent military orders within this 

state and possesses a valid driver license from another state where 

such person and spouse of such person claim residency; 

3.  Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age; 

4. 3.  Complete a firearms safety and training course and 

demonstrate competence and qualifications with the type of pistol to 

be carried by the person as provided in Section 1290.14 of this 

title, and submit proof of training and qualification or an 

exemption for training and qualification as authorized by Section 

1290.14 of this title; 

5. 4.  Submit the required fee and complete the application 

process as provided in Section 1290.12 of this title; and 

6. 5.  Comply in good faith with the provisions of the Oklahoma 

Self-Defense Act. 

SECTION 3.     AMENDATORY     21 O.S. 2011, Section 1290.12, as 

last amended by Section 2, Chapter 11, O.S.L. 2014 (21 O.S. Supp. 

2014, Section 1290.12), is amended to read as follows: 

Section 1290.12 

PROCEDURE FOR APPLICATION 
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 A.  Except as provided in paragraph 11 9 of this subsection, the 

procedure for applying for a handgun license and processing the 

application shall be as follows: 

1.  Applications shall be submitted to the Oklahoma State Bureau 

of Investigation at its headquarters or any other location 

designated by the Bureau for receiving applications; 

2.  An eligible person may request an application packet for a 

handgun license from the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation or 

the county sheriff's office either online, in person or by mail.  

The Bureau may provide application packets to each sheriff not 

exceeding two hundred packets per request.  The Bureau shall provide 

the following information in the application packet: 

a. an application form, 

b. procedures to follow to process the application form, 

and 

c. a copy of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act with any 

modifications thereto; 

2. 3.  The person shall be required to successfully complete a 

firearms safety and training course from a firearms instructor who 

is approved and registered in this state as provided in Section 

1290.14 of this title, and the person shall be required to 

demonstrate competency and qualification with a pistol authorized 

for concealed or unconcealed carry by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.  

The original certificate of training shall be submitted with the 
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 application for a handgun license.  No duplicate, copy, facsimile or 

other reproduction of the certificate of training or exemption from 

training shall be acceptable as proof of training as required by the 

provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.  A person exempt from 

the training requirements as provided in Section 1290.15 of this 

title must show the required proof of such exemption to the firearms 

instructor to receive an exemption certificate.  The original 

exemption certificate must be submitted with the application for a 

handgun license when the person claims an exemption from training 

and qualification; 

3. 4.  The application form shall be completed and delivered by 

the applicant, in person or by mail, to the sheriff of the county 

wherein the applicant resides a facility designated by the Bureau 

for receiving applications; 

4.  The person 5.  A resident of Oklahoma shall deliver to the 

sheriff Bureau at the time of delivery of the completed application 

form a fee of One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) for processing the 

application through the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation and 

processing the required fingerprints through the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation.  Beginning August 1, 2016, the application fee shall 

be Forty Dollars ($40.00) for a resident and Eighty Dollars ($80.00) 

for a nonresident of Oklahoma for processing the application.  The 

processing fee shall be in the form of: 
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 a. a money order or a cashier's check made payable to the 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation, 

b. by a nationally recognized credit card issued to the 

applicant.  For purposes of this paragraph, 

"nationally recognized credit card" means any 

instrument or device, whether known as a credit card, 

credit plate, charge plate, or by any other name, 

issued with or without fee by the issuer for the use 

of the cardholder in obtaining goods, services, or 

anything else of value on credit which is accepted by 

over one thousand merchants in the state.  The 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation shall determine 

which nationally recognized credit cards will be 

accepted by the Bureau, or 

c. by electronic funds transfer. 

The processing fee shall not be refundable in the event of a 

denial of a handgun license or any suspension or revocation 

subsequent to the issuance of a license.  Persons making application 

for a firearms instructor shall not be required to pay the 

application fee as provided in this section, but shall be required 

to pay the costs cost provided in paragraphs 6 and 8 paragraph 7 of 

this subsection; 

5.  The completed application form shall be signed by the 

applicant in person before the sheriff.   
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 6.  The signature of the applicant on the application shall be 

given voluntarily upon a sworn oath that the person knows the 

contents of the application and, that the information contained in 

the application is true and correct and that the applicant is the 

same person named on the application.  Any person making any false 

or misleading statement on an application for a handgun license 

shall, upon conviction, be guilty of perjury as defined by Section 

491 of this title.  Any conviction shall be punished punishable as 

provided in Section 500 of this title.  In addition to a criminal 

conviction, the person shall be denied the right to have a handgun 

license pursuant to the provisions of Section 1290.10 of this title 

and the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation shall revoke the 

handgun license, if issued; 

6. 7.  Two passport-size photographs of the applicant shall be 

submitted with the completed application.  The cost of the 

photographs shall be the responsibility of the applicant.  The 

sheriff Bureau is authorized to take the photograph of the applicant 

for purposes of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act and, if such 

photographs are taken by the sheriff Bureau the cost of the 

photographs shall not exceed Ten Dollars ($10.00) for the two 

photos.  All money received by the sheriff Bureau from photographing 

applicants pursuant to the provisions of this paragraph shall be 

retained by the sheriff Bureau and deposited into the Sheriff's 
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 Service Fee Account Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation Revolving 

Fund; 

7.  The sheriff shall witness the signature of the applicant and 

review or take the photographs of the applicant and shall verify 

that the person making application for a handgun license is the same 

person in the photographs submitted and the same person who signed 

the application form.  Proof  

8.  A photocopy of a valid Oklahoma driver license with a 

photograph of the applicant or an Oklahoma State state-issued photo 

identification card for the applicant shall be required to be 

presented by the applicant to the sheriff with the application for 

verification of the person's identity; 

8.  Upon verification of the identity of the applicant, the 

sheriff shall take two complete sets of fingerprints of the 

applicant.  Both sets of fingerprints shall be submitted by the 

sheriff with the completed application, certificate of training or 

an exemption certificate, photographs and processing fee to the 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation within fourteen (14) days of 

taking the fingerprints.  The cost of the fingerprints shall be paid 

by the applicant and shall not exceed Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) 

for the two sets.  All fees collected by the sheriff from taking 

fingerprints pursuant to the provisions of this paragraph shall be 

retained by the sheriff and deposited into the Sheriff's Service Fee 

Account; 
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 9.  The sheriff shall submit to the Oklahoma State Bureau of 

Investigation within the fourteen-day period, together with the 

completed application, including the certificate of training or 

exemption certificate, photographs, processing fee and legible 

fingerprints meeting the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation's 

Automated Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS) submission 

standards, and a report of information deemed pertinent to an 

investigation of the applicant for a handgun license.  The sheriff 

shall make a preliminary investigation of pertinent information 

about the applicant and the court clerk shall assist the sheriff in 

locating pertinent information in court records for this purpose.  

If no pertinent information is found to exist either for or against 

the applicant, the sheriff shall so indicate in the report; 

10.  The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation, upon receipt of 

the application and required information from the sheriff, shall 

forward one full set of fingerprints of the applicant to the Federal 

Bureau of Investigation for a national criminal history records 

search.  The cost of processing the fingerprints nationally shall be 

paid from the processing fee collected by the Oklahoma State Bureau 

of Investigation; 

11.  Notwithstanding the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense 

Act, or any other provisions of law, any person who has been granted 

a permanent victim's protective order by the court, as provided for 

in the Protection from Domestic Abuse Act, may be issued a temporary 
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 handgun license for a period not to exceed six (6) months.  A 

temporary handgun license may be issued if the person has 

successfully passed the required weapons course, completed the 

application process for the handgun license, passed the preliminary 

investigation of the person by the sheriff and court clerk, and 

provided the sheriff Bureau proof of a certified permanent victim 

protection order and a valid Oklahoma state photo identification 

card or driver license.  The sheriff Bureau shall issue a temporary 

handgun license on a form approved by the Oklahoma State Bureau of 

Investigation, at no cost.  Any person who has been issued a 

temporary license shall carry the temporary handgun license and a 

valid Oklahoma state driver license or state-issued photo 

identification card on his or her person at all times, and shall be 

subject to all the requirements of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act 

when carrying a handgun.  The person may proceed with the handgun 

licensing process.  In the event the victim's protection order is no 

longer enforceable, the temporary handgun license shall cease to be 

valid; 

12. 10.  The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation shall make a 

reasonable effort to investigate the information submitted by the 

applicant and the sheriff, to ascertain whether or not the issuance 

of a handgun license would be in violation of the provisions of the 

Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.  The investigation by the Bureau of an 

applicant shall include, but shall not be limited to:  a statewide 
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 criminal history records search, a national criminal history records 

search, a Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint search, and if 

applicable, an investigation of medical records or other records or 

information deemed by the Bureau to be relevant to the application. 

a. In the course of the investigation by the Bureau, it 

shall present the name of the applicant along with any 

known aliases, the address of the applicant and the 

social security number of the applicant to the 

Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse 

Services.  The Department of Mental Health and 

Substance Abuse Services shall respond within ten (10) 

days of receiving such information to the Bureau as 

follows: 

(1) with a "Yes" answer, if the records of the 

Department indicate that the person was 

involuntarily committed to a mental institution 

in Oklahoma, 

(2) with a "No" answer, if there are no records 

indicating the name of the person as a person 

involuntarily committed to a mental institution 

in Oklahoma, or 

(3) with an "Inconclusive" answer if the records of 

the Department suggest the applicant may be a 

formerly committed person.  In the case of an 
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 inconclusive answer, the Bureau shall ask the 

applicant whether he or she was involuntarily 

committed.  If the applicant states under penalty 

of perjury that he or she has not been 

involuntarily committed, the Bureau shall 

continue processing the application for a 

license. 

b. In the course of the investigation by the Bureau, it 

shall check the name of any applicant who is twenty-

eight (28) years of age or younger along with any 

known aliases, the address of the applicant and the 

social security number of the applicant against the 

records in the Juvenile Online Tracking System (JOLTS) 

of the Office of Juvenile Affairs.  The Office of 

Juvenile Affairs shall provide the Bureau direct 

access to check the applicant against the records 

available on JOLTS. 

(1) If the Bureau finds a record on the JOLTS that 

indicates the person was adjudicated a delinquent 

for an offense that would constitute a felony 

offense if committed by an adult within the last 

ten (10) years the Bureau shall deny the license, 

(2) If the Bureau finds no record on the JOLTS 

indicating the named person was adjudicated 
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 delinquent for an offense that would constitute a 

felony offense if committed by an adult within 

the last ten (10) years, or 

(3) If the records suggest the applicant may have 

been adjudicated delinquent for an offense that 

would constitute a felony offense if committed by 

an adult but such record is inconclusive, the 

Bureau shall ask the applicant whether he or she 

was adjudicated a delinquent for an offense that 

would constitute a felony offense if committed by 

an adult within the last ten (10) years.  If the 

applicant states under penalty of perjury that he 

or she was not adjudicated a delinquent within 

ten (10) years, the Bureau shall continue 

processing the application for a license 

conduct a background check of the applicant using the National 

Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) of the Federal 

Bureau of Investigation.  On or before November 1, 2015, the Bureau 

shall develop and facilitate the necessary modifications to the 

Oklahoma Self-Defense Act systems and messages switches for the 

Bureau and the Oklahoma Law Enforcement Telecommunications System 

(OLETS) for purposes of accessing the NICS database of the Federal 

Bureau of Investigation and receiving background information 

relating to handgun license applicants; and 
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 13. 11.  If the NICS background check set forth in paragraph 11 

of this subsection reveals no records provides a "proceed" response 

pertaining to the applicant, the Oklahoma State Bureau of 

Investigation shall either issue a handgun license or deny the 

application within sixty (60) days of the date of receipt of the 

applicant's completed application and the required information from 

the sheriff.  In all other cases, the Oklahoma State Bureau of 

Investigation shall either issue a handgun license or deny the 

application within ninety (90) days of the date of the receipt of 

the applicant's completed application and the required information 

from the sheriff.  The Bureau shall approve an applicant who appears 

to be in full compliance with the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-

Defense Act, if completion of the federal fingerprint search is the 

only reason for delay of the issuance of the handgun license to that 

applicant.  Upon receipt of the federal fingerprint search 

information, if the Bureau receives information which precludes the 

person from having a handgun license, the Bureau shall revoke the 

handgun license previously issued to the applicant.  The Bureau 

shall deny a license when the applicant fails to properly complete 

the application form or application process or is determined not to 

be eligible as specified by the provisions of Section 1290.9, 

1290.10 or 1290.11 of this title.  The Bureau shall approve an 

application in all other cases.  If an application is denied the 

NICS background check provides a "deny" response pertaining to the 
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 applicant, the Bureau shall notify the applicant in writing of its 

decision that the application has been denied and provide 

information from the NICS background check as to why the application 

has been denied.  The notification shall state the grounds for the 

denial and inform the applicant of the right to an appeal as may be 

provided by the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act and 

the procedures by which the applicant may appeal the denial.  If the 

NICS background check provides a "delayed" response pertaining to 

the applicant and the Bureau does not receive a "proceed" response 

within sixty (60) days of the date of receipt of the application, 

the application shall be denied.  All notices of denial shall be 

mailed by first-class mail to the address of the applicant listed in 

the application.  Within sixty (60) calendar days from the date of 

mailing a denial of application to an applicant, the applicant shall 

notify the Bureau in writing of the intent to appeal the decision of 

denial or the right of the applicant to appeal shall be deemed 

waived.  Any administrative hearing on a denial which may be 

provided shall be conducted by a hearing examiner appointed by the 

Bureau.  If the applicant has corrected any error pertaining to the 

NICS background check, the hearing examiner shall approve the 

application.  The decision of the hearing examiner shall be a final 

decision appealable to a district court in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedures Act.  When an application is approved, the 

Bureau shall issue the license and shall mail the license by first-
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 class mail to the address of the applicant listed in the 

application. 

B.  Nothing contained in any provision of the Oklahoma Self-

Defense Act shall be construed to require or authorize the 

registration, documentation or providing of serial numbers with 

regard to any firearm.  For purposes of the Oklahoma Self-Defense 

Act, the sheriff may designate a person to receive, fingerprint,  

photograph or otherwise process applications for handgun licenses. 

SECTION 4.     AMENDATORY     21 O.S. 2011, Section 1290.14, as 

last amended by Section 1, Chapter 123, O.S.L. 2014 (21 O.S. Supp. 

2014, Section 1290.14), is amended to read as follows: 

Section 1290.14 

SAFETY AND TRAINING COURSE 

A.  Each applicant Oklahoma resident who applies for a license 

to carry a concealed or unconcealed handgun pursuant to the Oklahoma 

Self-Defense Act must successfully complete a firearms safety and 

training course in this state conducted by a registered and approved 

firearms instructor as provided by the provisions of this section.  

Nonresident applicants for a license to carry a concealed or 

unconcealed handgun pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act must 

successfully complete a firearms safety and training course that 

meets the provisions of this section.  The applicant must further 

demonstrate competence and qualification with an authorized pistol 

of the type or types that the applicant desires to carry as a 
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 concealed or unconcealed handgun pursuant to the provisions of the 

Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, except certain persons may be exempt from 

such training requirement as provided by the provisions of Section 

1290.15 of this title. 

B.  The Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training 

(CLEET) shall establish criteria for approving firearms instructors 

for purposes of training and qualifying individuals for a handgun 

license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.  

Prior to submitting an application for CLEET approval as a firearms 

instructor, applicants shall attend a firearms instructor school, 

meeting the following minimum requirements: 

1.  Firearms instructor training conducted by one of the 

following entities: 

a. Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training, 

b. National Rifle Association, 

c. Oklahoma Rifle Association, 

d. federal law enforcement agencies, or 

e. other professionally recognized organizations; 

2.  The course shall be at least sixteen (16) hours in length; 

3.  Upon completion of the course, the applicant shall be 

qualified to provide instruction on revolvers, semiautomatic 

pistols, or both; and 

4.  Receive a course completion certificate. 
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 All firearms instructors shall be required to meet the 

eligibility requirements for a handgun license as provided in 

Sections Section 1290.9, 1290.10, and 1290.11 of this title, and the 

application shall be processed as provided for applicants in Section 

1290.12 of this title, including the state and national criminal 

history records search and fingerprint search background check 

through the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) 

of the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  A firearms instructor shall 

be required to pay a fee of One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) to the 

Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET) each time 

the person makes application for CLEET approval as a firearms 

instructor pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense 

Act.  The fee shall be retained by CLEET and shall be deposited into 

the Firearms Instructors Revolving Fund.  CLEET shall promulgate the 

rules, forms and procedures necessary to implement the approval of 

firearms instructors as authorized by the provisions of this 

subsection.  CLEET shall periodically review each approved 

instructor during a training and qualification course to assure 

compliance with the rules and course contents.  Any violation of the 

rules may result in the revocation or suspension of CLEET and 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation approval.  Unless the 

approval has been revoked or suspended, a firearms instructor's 

CLEET approval shall be for a term of five (5) years.  Beginning on 

July 1, 2003, any firearms instructor who has been issued a four-
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 year CLEET approval shall not be eligible for the five-year approval 

until the expiration of the approval previously issued.  CLEET shall 

be responsible for notifying all approved firearms instructors of 

statutory and policy changes related to the Oklahoma Self-Defense 

Act.  A firearms instructor shall not be required to submit his or 

her fingerprints for a fingerprint search when applying for or 

renewing a firearms instructor's CLEET approval. 

C.  1.  All firearms instructors approved by CLEET to train and 

qualify individuals for a handgun license shall be required to apply 

for registration with the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation 

after receiving CLEET approval.  All firearms instructors teaching 

the approved course for a handgun license must display their 

registration certificate during each training and qualification 

course.  Each approved firearms instructor shall complete a 

registration form provided by the Bureau and shall have the option 

to pay a registration fee of either One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) 

for a five-year registration certificate or Two Hundred Dollars 

($200.00) for a ten-year registration certificate to the Bureau at 

the time of each application for registration, except as provided in 

paragraph 2 of this subsection.  Registration certificates issued by 

the Bureau shall be valid for a period of five (5) years or ten (10) 

years from the date of issuance.  The Bureau shall issue a five-year 

or ten-year handgun license to an approved firearms instructor at 

the time of issuance of a registration certificate and no additional 
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 fee shall be required or charged.  The license issued shall reflect 

that the licensee is a firearms instructor.  The Bureau shall 

maintain a current listing of all registered firearms instructors in 

this state.  Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to 

eliminate the requirement for registration and training with CLEET 

as provided in subsection B of this section.  Failure to register or 

be trained as required shall result in a revocation or suspension of 

the instructor certificate by the Bureau. 

2.  On or after July 1, 2003, the registered instructors listed 

in subparagraphs a and b of this paragraph shall not be required to 

renew the firearms instructor registration certificate with the 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation at the expiration of the 

registration term, provided the instructor is not subject to any 

suspension or revocation of the firearms instructor certificate.  

The firearms instructor registration with the Oklahoma State Bureau 

of Investigation shall automatically renew together with the handgun 

license authorized in paragraph 1 of this subsection for an 

additional five-year term and no additional cost or fee may be 

charged for the following individuals: 

a. an active duty law enforcement officer of this state 

or any of its political subdivisions or of the federal 

government who has a valid CLEET approval as a 

firearms instructor pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-

Defense Act, and 
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 b. a retired law enforcement officer authorized to carry 

a firearm pursuant to Section 1289.8 of this title who 

has a valid CLEET approval as a firearms instructor 

pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act. 

D.  The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation shall approve 

registration for a firearms instructor applicant who is in full 

compliance with CLEET rules regarding firearms instructors and the 

provisions of subsection B of this section, if completion of the 

federal fingerprint search is the only reason for delay of 

registration of that firearms instructor applicant.  Upon receipt of 

the federal fingerprint search information, if the Bureau receives 

information which precludes the person from having a handgun 

license, the Bureau shall revoke both the registration and the 

handgun license previously issued to the firearms instructor. 

E.  The required firearms safety and training course and the 

actual demonstration of competency and qualification required of the 

applicant shall be designed and conducted in such a manner that the 

course can be reasonably completed by the applicant within an eight-

hour period.  CLEET shall establish the course content and 

promulgate rules, procedures and forms necessary to implement the 

provisions of this subsection.  For the training and qualification 

course, an An applicant may be charged a fee which shall be 

determined by the instructor or entity that is conducting the 

course.  The maximum class size shall be determined by the 
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 instructor conducting the course; provided, however, practice 

shooting sessions shall not have more than ten participating 

students at one time.  CLEET may establish criteria for assistant 

instructors and any other requirements deemed necessary to conduct a 

safe and effective training and qualification course.  The course 

content shall include a safety inspection of the firearm to be used 

by the applicant in the training course; instruction on pistol 

handling, safety and storage; dynamics of ammunition and firing; 

methods or positions for firing a pistol; information about the 

criminal provisions of the Oklahoma law relating to firearms; the 

requirements of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act as it relates to the 

applicant; self-defense and the use of appropriate force; a practice 

shooting session; and a familiarization course.  The firearms 

instructor shall refuse to train or qualify any person when the 

pistol to be used or carried by the person is either deemed unsafe 

or unfit for firing or is a weapon not authorized by the Oklahoma 

Self-Defense Act.  The course shall provide an opportunity for the 

applicant to qualify himself or herself on either a derringer, a 

revolver, a semiautomatic pistol or any combination of a derringer, 

a revolver and a semiautomatic pistol, provided no pistol shall be 

capable of firing larger than .45 caliber ammunition.  Any applicant 

who successfully trains and qualifies himself or herself with a 

semiautomatic pistol may be approved by the firearms instructor on 

the training certificate for a semiautomatic pistol, a revolver and 
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 a derringer upon request of the applicant.  Any person who qualifies 

on a derringer or revolver shall not be eligible for a semiautomatic 

rating until the person has demonstrated competence and 

qualifications on a semiautomatic pistol.  Upon successful 

completion of the training and qualification course, a certificate 

shall be issued to each applicant who successfully completes the 

course.  The firearms instructor shall require each applicant to 

present a state-issued photo identification card or driver license 

of the applicant to verify the identity of the applicant and shall 

record the name of the applicant and the identification card number 

or driver license number on the class roster before providing a 

course completion certificate.  The certificate of training shall 

comply with the form established by CLEET and shall be submitted 

with an application for a handgun license pursuant to the provisions 

of paragraph 2 3 of subsection A of Section 1290.12 of this title.  

The certificate of completion issued to an applicant shall be valid 

for a period of three (3) years. 

F.  There is hereby created a revolving fund for the Council on 

Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET), to be designated the 

"Firearms Instructors Revolving Fund".  The fund shall be a 

continuing fund, not subject to fiscal year limitations, and shall 

consist of all funds received for approval of firearms instructors 

for purposes of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.  All funds received 

shall be deposited to the fund.  All monies accruing to the credit 
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 of said fund are hereby appropriated and may be budgeted and 

expended by the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training, 

for implementation of the training and qualification course 

contents, approval of firearms instructors and any other CLEET 

requirement pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense 

Act or as may otherwise be deemed appropriate by CLEET.  

Expenditures from said fund shall be made upon warrants issued by 

the State Treasurer against claims filed as prescribed by law with 

the Director of the Office of Management and Enterprise Services for 

approval and payment. 

G.  Firearms instructors shall keep on file for a period of not 

less than three (3) years a roster of each training class, including 

the state-issued photo identification card number or driver license 

number of each applicant, the safety test score of each individual, 

the caliber and type of weapon each individual used when qualifying 

and whether or not each individual successfully completed the 

training course.  Firearms instructors shall be authorized to 

destroy all training documents and records upon expiration of the 

three-year time period. 

H.  Nothing herein contained shall be construed to prohibit an 

Oklahoma resident from obtaining or possessing a nonresident weapons 

or handgun license issued by another state. 
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 SECTION 5.     AMENDATORY     21 O.S. 2011, Section 1290.18, as 

amended by Section 37, Chapter 259, O.S.L. 2012 (21 O.S. Supp. 2014, 

Section 1290.18), is amended to read as follows: 

Section 1290.18 

APPLICATION FORM CONTENTS 

The application shall be completed upon the sworn oath of the 

applicant as provided in paragraph 5 6 of subsection A of Section 

1290.12 of this title.  The application form shall be provided by 

the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation and shall contain the 

following information in addition to any other information deemed 

relevant by the Bureau: 

1.  Applicant's full legal name; 

2.  Applicant's birth name, alias names or nicknames; 

3.  Maiden name, if applicable; 

4.  County of residence; 

5.  Length of residency at the current address; 

6.  Previous addresses for the preceding three (3) years; 

7.  Place of birth; 

8.  Date of birth; 

9.  Declaration of citizenship and date United States 

citizenship was acquired, if applicable; 

10.  Race; 

11.  Weight; 

12.  Height; 
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 13.  Sex; 

14.  Color of eyes; 

15.  Social Security number with a statement that providing the 

Social Security number is optional; 

16.  Current Valid state-issued identification card number or 

driver license number and the state issuing the card; 

17.  Military service number, if applicable; 

18.  Law enforcement identification numbers, if applicable; 

19.  Current occupation; 

20.  Authorized type or types of pistol for which the applicant 

qualified as stated on the certificate of training or exemption of 

training which shall be stated as either derringer, revolver, 

semiautomatic pistol, or some combination of derringer, revolver and 

semiautomatic pistol and the maximum ammunition capacity of the 

firearm shall be .45 caliber; 

21.  An acknowledgment that the applicant desires a handgun 

license as a means of lawful self-defense and self-protection and 

for no other intent or purpose; 

22.  A statement that the applicant has never been convicted of 

any felony offense in this state, another state or pursuant to any 

federal offense; 

23.  A statement that the applicant has none of the conditions 

which would preclude the issuing of a handgun license pursuant to 

any of the provisions of Sections 1290.10 and 1290.11 of this title 
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 and that the applicant further meets all of the eligibility criteria 

required by Section 1290.9 of this title; 

24.  An authorization for the Oklahoma State Bureau of 

Investigation to investigate the applicant and any or all records 

relating to the applicant for purposes of approving or denying a 

handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-

Defense Act; 

25.  An acknowledgment that the applicant, if a resident of 

Oklahoma, has been furnished a copy of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act 

and is knowledgeable about its provisions; 

26.  A statement that the applicant is the identical person who 

completed the firearms training course for which the original 

training certificate is submitted as part of the application or a 

statement that the applicant is the identical person who is exempt 

from firearms training for which the original exemption certificate 

is submitted as part of the application, whichever is applicable to 

the applicant; 

27.  A conspicuous warning that the application is executed upon 

the sworn oath of the applicant and that any false or misleading 

answer to any question or the submission of any false information or 

documentation by the applicant is punishable by criminal penalty as 

provided in paragraph 5 6 of subsection A of Section 1290.12 of this 

title; 
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 28.  A signed verification that the contents of the application 

are known to the applicant and are true and correct; 

29.  Two separate places for the original signature of the 

applicant; 

30.  A place for attachment of a passport-size photograph of the 

applicant; and 

31.  A place for the signature and verification of the identity 

of the applicant by the sheriff or the sheriff's designee Any other 

information required by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and 

Explosives (BATFE) to be provided on forms BATFE requires for the 

transfer of a firearm from a federally licensed firearms dealer to 

the public. 

Information provided by the person on an application for a 

handgun license shall be confidential except to law enforcement 

officers or law enforcement agencies. 

SECTION 6.     AMENDATORY     21 O.S. 2011, Section 1290.19, as 

amended by Section 38, Chapter 259, O.S.L. 2012 (21 O.S. Supp. 2014, 

Section 1290.19), is amended to read as follows: 

Section 1290.19   

LICENSE FORM 

The handgun license shall be on a form prescribed by the 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation and shall contain the 

following information in addition to any other information deemed 

relevant by the Bureau: 
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 1.  The full name of the person; 

2.  Current address; 

3.  County of residence; 

4.  Date of birth; 

5.  Weight; 

6.  Height; 

7.  Sex; 

8.  Race; 

9.  Color of eyes; 

10.  Handgun license identification number; 

11.  Expiration date of the handgun license; and 

12.  Authorized pistol to be either: (D) derringer, (R) 

revolver, (S) semiautomatic pistol, or some combination of 

derringer, revolver and semiautomatic pistol as may be authorized by 

the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act for which the person demonstrated 

qualification pursuant to the certificate of training or an 

exemption certificate; and 

13.  Whether the license is issued to a resident or nonresident 

of Oklahoma. 

Licenses issued to instructors under Section 1290.14 of this 

title shall reflect that the licensee is a firearms instructor. 

SECTION 7.     REPEALER     21 O.S. 2011, Sections 1290.10, as 

amended by Section 1, Chapter 259, O.S.L. 2014, 1290.11, as last 

amended by Section 2, Chapter 259, O.S.L. 2014 and 1290.20, as 
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 amended by Section 39, Chapter 259, O.S.L. 2012 (21 O.S. Supp. 2014, 

Sections 1290.10, 1290.11 and 1290.20), are hereby repealed." 
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